PDA

View Full Version : Polymer clay beading

ladyluckjewellery
11-04-2008, 04:01 PM
Hi,

I've been using Fimo for a while now to make polymer beads, and have just bought some lovely deep fuschia Sculpey, which will contrast really well against my pearl white Fimo .... if I can mix them:confused:

Does anyone know if the two mix OK, I know they both have the same bake temperature but that's about it!

Thanks,

Claire

marra
11-04-2008, 04:46 PM
i belive you can !
i am very new to using fimo and still trail and error but ive read a lt and think i have seem similar post before , try asking tip top or pauline@weddingtreasures they will know ! :D

ladyluckjewellery
12-04-2008, 09:41 PM
Thanks Marra,

I'm going to have a go in the next few days so will let you know how I get on :)

Claire

Pauline@weddingtreasures
13-04-2008, 06:19 AM
Hi Claire

Yes I've mixed different types of clay with no problems so you should be just fine!

Let us know how you get on.

Pauline :D

craftyjan
13-04-2008, 07:15 AM
sounds exciting i have a few different types of polymer clay have to have a go at beads sometime do you use a bead roller

ladyluckjewellery
13-04-2008, 02:55 PM
hi,

Thanks for the confirmation Pauline that I can mix the two, I'm siiting here trying to soften a HUGE lump of Fimo black at the moment, mouse in one hand, clay in the other :D

I haven't tried bead rollers as I thought they would be a bit restrictve for the kind of designs I do, but I might get one in the near future to make some more precisley shaped beads.

Claire

Pauline@weddingtreasures
13-04-2008, 04:58 PM
Hiya

Normally black coloured fimo is soft........unless of course you have gone for the classic.......which I hate to use as it takes so flipping long to condition!

If you can, try and remember to buy the 'soft' fimo - I've found that works just as well to be honest, unless of course you are going to be something quite big and very detailed!