PDA

View Full Version : Help about wire

kalinda
02-04-2008, 12:49 PM
Hi everybody,
I am new to beading and actually haven't quite started yet. I am in the process of getting ready and the more I read about somethings, the more confused I get. This is just what is happening regarding wire.
My idea of what I want to make is mainly earings, but I will give a go to necklaces as well, not so bothered at this stage about bracelets.
So... here is the magic question, what wire do I need to buy? I read about the 2 brands that are recommended (Beadalon and Softflex) and I wonder, can I get away with using cheaper stuff (out of ebay) or should I really invest on wire? What about thickness? Do I need to buy a bit of everything? What is considered the "regular" size?
I have acquired some tigertail wire (don't ask me what size), is this suitable for what I want to do? How is tigertail different from nylon-coated wire?
I also have fishing wire. Can I use this, or should I not bother with that at all?
As you see, questions, questions, questions... And the more reading I do, the more questions...
Sorry about all the questions, this is what you get for having newbies in your forum ;)
Kalinda

Debeadz
02-04-2008, 01:19 PM
Hi Kalinda

For earrings I generally use headpins to thread my beads on and for most of my necklaces I use Tigertail just because I find it can withstand quite a bit of weight. I also use the clear "fishing wire" type thread to make illusion necklaces but it can be quite fragile sometimes.

Mostly I have found out by trial and error as to how things turn out but you won't go far wrong using tigertail if you only want to buy one type of thread. That is just my opinion though :)

I'm sure someone else will come along with their advice too and answer your other questions!

I hope that helps and good luck with it! ;)

Bea
02-04-2008, 02:45 PM
What is considered the "regular" size?