• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • somerset artist
    100+ crafts club
    • Feb 2008

South Somerset art and craft fairs

Hi everyone, I'm a newbie to the craft forum, although I have been painting and selling both full size and miniature art for a living for the past five years or so.

I was planning on having a local exhibition of my full size art in the very near future, however having come across this great site and read about the many crafts that are being done I got to thinking that perhaps I could organise an arts and crafts fair. I'm checking a number of venues although no date has been decided yet, I would be hoping to get something going within the next couple of months. I'm looking to hold the fair around the south Somerset area, I live near Taunton, and this area has easy access with the A303 and the M5.

My first thoughts are to be able to offer the public a wide range of art styles and different crafts and to be able to offer the craftsperson/artist an affordable way of getting their work in front of the public.

I have done 'one man' exhibitions before, but nothing involving lots of people so would be very open to any advice, both from those who have been to craft fairs as stall holders, and those who have maybe organised one themselves.

Lastly if there is anyone in this area who would like to get on board and help, please get in touch.

Andrew
    Remember a long road is best travelled with plenty of breaks.

Even the best of us make mistakes!
  • Coburg Crafts
    Junior crafter
    • Feb 2008

I'd certainly be interested to hear about it when you've got it going, Andrew. I sell hand-made jewellery along with my friend who makes fused glass jewellery and bowls.
    Lesley
    Web: http://www.coburgcrafts.co.uk
    Blog: http://coburgcrafts.blogspot.com/
    Etsy: http://www.coburg.etsy.com

Comment

• ellie
      So much more than a moderate crafter
      • Jun 2007

ooooo.. me too, i'd be interested!