Craft forums - Part of the Crafts Directory

IzzyBee is offline Junior Member Moderate crafter

Default Students and tax?

Please note these ads will not show for registered crafts forum members.
    Click here to register...

I'm a full time student so money's a little bit tight. I've been considering selling some of my crafts to bring a little bit of extra money in so I don't have to start living on Super Noodles and rubbish like that haha. I'm not expecting to make loads of sales or masses of profit, so I'm just wondering if registering as self employed and all that bumph is worth it.

The questions I have at the moment are:
    - how will being self-employed affect my student loan (in terms of the amount I can get)? I don't want to find myself with a much lower loan and not be making any profit from my crafts.
    - what tax will I have to pay? I'm assuming I'd have to pay tax on my self employed earnings (whereas I don't if I'm employed by a company), but is the rate different for students?
    - does selling on somewhere like Etsy still require you to be self employed?

Any other current or previous students out there who have any advice/stories to share with me? Or anyone who can point me in the right direction on the HMRC website?

Sorry for all my stupid questions, I have no idea about tax and stuff as up until now I've never had to pay it or even think about it, so I have no idea what I'm doing!
    Last edited by IzzyBee; 17-05-2010 at 10:54 PM.
    My craft YouTube channel: http://www.youtube.com/izzybeecrafts
    Twitter: @izzybeecrafts

Selling is selling so you will have to be registered. Student loans they will ask you for a spreadsheet or proof of income and base it on that.

this should help
    http://www.hmrc.gov.uk/selfemployed/index.shtml
    if not just give them a ring they are really helpful

if you don't register and get caught its a fine

IzzyBee is offline Junior Member Moderate crafter