Craft forums - Part of the Crafts Directory

tonimf is offline Junior Member Junior crafter

Default Soldering iron problem

Please note these ads will not show for registered crafts forum members.
    Click here to register...

Hi I'm new to copper foiling and am trying to set up economically - tricky as I can't find suppliers in Portugal and am ordering online from uk.

My big problem is my soldering iron - I've tried bog standard 100w Draper but the tip melted within a couple of weeks and have replaced this with locally bought 75w cheapo but the same problem is happening - can anyone give tell me why this might be happening - would be most grateful for any help.

Cheers Toni

Seahorse is offline Super Moderator Try and catch up with this one.. What a crafter!!!

Hmm, I dont really know.Maybe the tip is made of a substandard metal and wouldnt withstand the heat.
    I bought all my soldering stuff from creativeglassguild and Ive had no problems.May be worth a look.

Default wow quick response - thanks

Yeah i thought it might be a heat problem. Do you use a thermostatically controlled one? i hoped to save some cash by not buying one - i also assumed a lower wattage was suitable for copper foil. Do you use creatives solder - I find it a bit bulky. Can I use local stuff which is only 30:70 with its own flux? Seems like I'm all questions - its a bit isolated trying to do it here so I'm totally web help dependant!

Cheers toni

Seahorse is offline Super Moderator Try and catch up with this one.. What a crafter!!!

mey, yu used a load of words I didnt understand.Im not into soldering as much as you clearly are and you seem to know all the jargon.My iron cost around 80 and has 1 heat.I use lead free silver solder which has a flux in it.

I spent money on a few cheap irons to begin with but things went alot more smoothly when I bought the better iron.
    Are you using an acid(dont know what its called)on the copper foil pre soldering?