Craft forums - Part of the Crafts Directory

Default How do i know how much to substitute?

Please note these ads will not show for registered crafts forum members.
    Click here to register...

hi all,
    im new here & really keen to start making soap, saw it on kirsties homemade home program and am hooked!
    im going to follow her recipe that she did as it looks easy and its my first time, what i would like to know is,if i want to use different butters/oils how do i know how much to change from the original recipe?
    hers uses coconut oil,sunflower oil & olive oil.

was thinking of maybe adding shea butter or coco butter.
    hope this makes sense!

greannancrafts is offline Senior Member Try and catch up with this one.. What a crafter!!!

Hi
    to the forum

We shall be posting our soap making course dates next week.

Learn about recipes and superfatting your soaps.

Jane
    www.just-soaps.com
    Twitter JUSTSOAPS
    FB www.facebook.com/pages/Just-Soaps/258910018463
    Natural Handmade Olive Oil Soaps and Skincare free from SLS, Parabens, and other Nasties

Critchley is online now Super Moderator Super mega humungous crafter with too much time on their hands and chats too much!

nice to see you here.
    Carol
    God helps them that help themselves.

Doodlebug, please, please be careful about substituting anything into an existing recipe. A friend of mine got it wrong and put too mcuh essential oil into her soap and it brought her out in a rash. If you are planning on selling it, you soap must be tested - I'm not sure I would let my family loose on a bar of untested soap.

If you're going to use essential oils in your soap - use Lavender - it's relatively safe on the skin.

Good luck
    Love Poppy xxx
    POPPY LONG STOCKING EVENTS MANAGEMENT

www.poppylongstocking.co.uk

thanks for the replys.
    im not going to be selling , just going to be doing it as a hobby.