Craft forums - Part of the Crafts Directory

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Lianne86 is offline Junior Member Junior crafter

Question Embossing help for a total beginner!

Please note these ads will not show for registered crafts forum members.
    Click here to register...

Hi guys hope your all good! Can't believe how much snow is outside!!

Anyway, i've got a week off uni (exams are finished - woo hoo!!) so i'm planning on experimenting with embossing. I've done dry embossing with the light box and the stencil and it went really well. so i'm looking to start using the powders with the heat gun. Would i only need a heat gun, stamps, ink and embossing powders?

I'm totally new to this so i'm thinking that i need to stamp the image, sprinkle the embossing powder onto the ink and then use the heat gun on it? Is that right? I also read somewhere that i could use a hair dryer but i'm a bit unsure about whether that would work or not!!

Also is there any specific brands that i should buy or are they more or less the same quality?

Thanks in advance and sorry for all the questions!

Lianne

Seahorse is offline Super Moderator Try and catch up with this one.. What a crafter!!!

HIya

Yep, stamp picture, sprinkle on heat up powder, remove excess powder and use heat gun on it.

A hair dryer wont work.

You can get a set from Argos for around 20, a heat gun, 1 ink pad and 2 heat it up powder pots.
    Its worth buying this set as the gun itself can cost 30!

Dont know about the best make but I got mine from the Argos set and its been great.

Yeah i saw that Argos set, looked pretty good and at least thats nearly everything i need to get started.

Thanks for your help.

Seahorse is offline Super Moderator Try and catch up with this one.. What a crafter!!!

I warn you, once youve started you will want every colour ink and every colour heat powder there is available!