Craft forums - Part of the Crafts Directory

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default How do I get started???

Please note these ads will not show for registered crafts forum members.
    Click here to register...

Hi I am completely new to knitting (apart from having a go at scarfs when I was a kid which all ended up as wonky dolls blankets with holes in, and then my mum always cast on and off for me!) I really want to give it a go but have no idea where to start. Is it possible to learn from a book (if so any ideas of good ones) or maybe the internet. or do I need to find someone to teach me?
    So if any of you could give me some hints and tips I would be really grateful.
    thank you

craftyfoxni is offline Senior Member 100+ crafts club

Hi bead fairy sorry you are so far away from me or it would love to have a go at teaching you to knit but the best i can offer is to have a look at youtube and there is some good basic vidoes for casting on and off and the bit in the middle!!! let me know how you get on

Linda60 is offline Senior Member 100+ crafts club

I have loads of knitting books but think online tutorials probably best (I would google learn to knit) and see what comes up. I will have a go in a mo if you like but please do not hesitate to ask specific questions if I can help with any patterns etc. let me know.

Linda

Linda60 is offline Senior Member 100+ crafts club

Quote Originally Posted by Linda60 View Post
    I have loads of knitting books but think online tutorials probably best (I would google learn to knit) and see what comes up. I will have a go in a mo if you like but please do not hesitate to ask specific questions if I can help with any patterns etc. let me know.

Linda
    try looking on www.learn2knit.co.uk I think you will find this really helpful.

Linda