PDA

View Full Version : Is jewellery making going to turn into an expensive hobby?!

beadyeyes
27-01-2008, 02:28 PM
Basically what it says in the title. How much do you all spend on a regular basis on this hobby? I'm just starting out and I know it's expensive to start out but will I be able to reduce my spending once I've got some stuff?!

Thanks,

Beadyeyes

Kay
27-01-2008, 02:34 PM
LOL, simple answer is yes, its an expensive hobby as you will always want more stash, I have a room full of pretty things, some I especially bought just to touch and look at, I wont use them, extremely sad I know LMAO

linz
27-01-2008, 03:41 PM
I spend an absolute fortune on jewellery making supplies. I just can't help myself. Sometime I go on a website just for a browse, and come away spending 100. Its a very pricey addicition, but I suppose the more stock I have, the more sales I make, do it's not all bad!:(

silversurfer
28-01-2008, 11:59 AM
Beads are like sweets you can't stop buying them. You have to discipline yourself, which I find really difficult. I tend to just buy when I know I have a stall coming. But yes it is an expensive hobby, depends what you want to do and what you want out of it.

Good Luck resist resist resist!!

Reillyfacet
28-01-2008, 03:25 PM
There are materials out there very cheaply and free sometimes. If you have a local scrap store near-by, they are like treasure troves! Very inspiring. For the last 15 years I've been earning a living from knitting copper wire. Initially I could only find the stuff from old televisions, dirt cheap!

ladyluckjewellery
31-01-2008, 05:28 PM
Yes, jewellery making can be an expensive hooby, partly because it's just so addictive, and partly because no matter how many beads and finding you have, you'll always spot more that you like!!