PDA

View Full Version : I want to make clothes but....

AmyDave
06-01-2011, 07:32 AM
I have never done it before.
I have a sewing machine and was wondering if there are any good basic books or anything online with the basics?
Also what sort of things would be good to start with????

Caroleecrafts
06-01-2011, 07:35 AM
Most people start off with a skirt, go to your local fabric shop and browse the easy pattern sections or try Jaycotts (http://www.jaycotts.co.uk/acatalog/Sewing_Patterns.html)
pattern section, if you browse down you will find the quick and easy or easy patterns as they are marked quite clearly.

Venusrocks
06-01-2011, 10:16 AM
Try the Sew U: Built by Wendy guides - you can pick them up quite cheaply on Amazon. They're really easy to use and come with two or three patterns for basic skirt/top along with ideas for varying the design yourself. I also went to a class at my local college which I found really helpful.

Good luck!

Leisure Time Collection
06-01-2011, 10:30 AM
Take a look at sewing support (http://www.sewingsupport.com/learn-to-sew.html) they have some lovely tutorials on the various sewing techniques

AnnieAnna
06-01-2011, 11:12 AM
There are a load of free patterns on the web and you tube tutorials.

I started with dolls clothes (didn't matter too much if they were a mess - they weren't :D) then baby clothes and easy things like cushion covers.

Traditional clothes are nice to start with. T shirts that are Ts, Kaftans, gathered shirts. There are no complicated fastenings on them.

I love the 1930s how to sew books found in dusty corners of secondhand book shops but Amazon is always trying to sell me modern how to sew coffee table books which are probably just as good (but don't cost £3 ;)).

AmyDave
06-01-2011, 11:41 AM
Thanks for the advice.

I want to learn all the basics before I even start with a pattern. Sewing is so new to me othe rthan running stitch which I normally do by hand.

Thanks again

Thomas!
06-01-2011, 04:09 PM