PDA

View Full Version : Newbie polmer questions :)

Stargazer
03-08-2010, 09:46 AM
I'm really new to polymer clay, and I'm got some really basic questions because I seem to be struggling already! I'd really appreciate any help/advice x

Whats best to use? I have Studio Sculpey and I'm finding it really soft to use. Is there a better brand?

I bought myself an oven thermometer but some of my thin pieces won't set hard, They flex then break. Might they need less time? I ask because a thick piece set harder.

Exactly how hard will it go if properly baked, are we talking stone-hard?

I saw on a couple of threads that people sand their pieces...should it always be sanded? Which sandpaper should be used?

Thanks x I'm going to buy a book but just wanted to ask in the meantime.

Stargazer x

ladyluckjewellery
03-08-2010, 12:25 PM
Hi stargazer,

Welcome to the addictive world of polymer clay!!! There are quite a few different brands of clay, all with different qualities, studio by sculpey is one of the softer clays, which makes it nice & easy to condition, but it tends to lack a bit of strength after baking, and also I find if I'm making canes the colours tend to 'bleed' a bit.

I mostly use Fimo classic, and occasionally fimo soft or sculpey III - I haven;'t tried Cernit (ejralph on here is the expert on it!) or Kato clay but I've heard good reports on both.

As for the baking, a thin sheet of clay will usually stay a little bit flexible, as part of the strength is in the smount of clay. You'll never get to stone hard with poylmer clay, the best I can describe the 'proper' hardness as is similar to a decent piece of hardwood - it's solid and won't easily mark, but you can still sand it and it shouldn't feel brittle.