PDA

View Full Version : How easy is it to organise a craft fair?

Katianne
21-01-2007, 12:35 PM
I am new to crafts and have been looking for local craft fairs to sell my designs but have found there aren't that many, especially small local ones rather than big events where you have to pay a lot for your stall. I wondered how I would go about organising one myself, where to advertise and what costs are involved. For example, there is a comminty centre near me that would be a good venue, but what would be my next steps? Would I be taking on too much seeing as I am new to all of this?

If I did organise would anyone be interested?

Running_wild
21-01-2007, 05:30 PM
There are 2 ways that you could organise a craft fair, but for both the most essential ingredient is contacts - you need the addresses / emails of enough crafters to invite as only some will be available.
Fair 1 - this would be the idea you mentioned - hiring a venue yourself. Once you know what it costs to hire the hall you also need to check if utilities/electricity are included in the price. Does the hall have trestle tables you can use and you will need extension cables so stalls can have their own lighting. If there are no tables you need to decide if stall holders bring their own or if you will hire them from someone else. What you charge each stall holder will be based on what you have paid to hire the hall, obviously you need to get your costs back and not end up out of pocket.
Fair 2 - for this fair you need to contact a local school, primary or secondary and see if they would like to host a craft fair to raise money for school funds. Schools have big halls/gyms, tables and usually supportive customers (parents). You help organise it by supplying the contacts list. The school charges 10 a table, with stalls having the option of one or 2 tables. Stall holders don't like an entrance fee being charged as this puts people off going. The school can make extra money by selling coffee and cakes.