PDA

View Full Version : Newbie: please help w/firing advice

jgourlay
02-01-2007, 10:22 PM
Greetings all, and happy new year!

I am a total newbie to this and I've come to it as a good way to spend time with my 6 year old doing something other than television.

Thus far I've made 3 pots, with 1 firing successfully, and the other exploding owing probably to excess moisture. To fire, I'm using a bbq grill with internal dimensions of 12" deep x 23" wide and 6" tall. To date, I've used a mixture of mostly grilling charcoal with some coke thrown in. I can hook up propane, but not at a satisfactory rate of flow, although it does make a good adjunct to the charcoal.

The clay is a "Raku C" with "kaynite". The glazes I've used so far are: Envision foodsafe (Blue, yellow, and clear) as well as a supersaturated solution of salt (NaCl).

I am having a problem, and would appreciate your suggestions. What I am trying to achieve are (primarily) a "foodgrade" finish and (secondarily) pretty colors.

What I have found so far is as follows:

1. If I do ONE firing the blue comes out okay, the yellow and clear come out grey, and all three look like the cratered moon. The salt comes out a nice mild red, but does not seal the porosity and hold water (no surprise).

2. if I do TWO firings (first without glaze, second with), the cratering disappears, but the glazes seem to disappear as well except the blue. The doesn't glaze, but appears to soak in. I didn't try water in that one, but the surface texture looks like the non-water holding salt from above. The yellow and clear are just awol. The blue is there, but turns a kind of dull grey with some bluish tinge.

Note that so far I am firing the pots in the middle of a big heaping pile of fuel, with both the coke and charcoal piled directly on top of the work. I lay down a layer of fuel maybe 2" deep, then the work, then pile up charcoal into a cone shaped pile until it just begins to spile over the edge.