PDA

View Full Version : I'm making a HUGE panel to go over my front door...

LittleMissNaughty
07-09-2009, 04:07 AM
.....and can't decide whether to just go back to basics and use rufflet tape or to make it look extra nice and use eyelets... only problem is I've never done eyelets before...and don't know where to start! I'm a fairly competant sewer and like a challenge but if I'm going to make a hash of it I'd rather stick to what I know!

How do I 'do' eyelets???????

Thank You xxxx:)

sharon
07-09-2009, 07:55 PM
Hi,
Basically there are 2 different methods:-
1. Ready made eyelet tape 2. Interfacing method.

On both methods you have to have an even number of eyelets (eg 6, 8, 10 etc) in order for the curtain panel to pleat correctly.

I think if the panel is for your own door you would be fine using the very simple ready made tape. Buy enough tape for the width of your panel plus a bit extra to allow for adjusting the spaces, buy enough clip-in eyelets for your panel. Basically you attach the tape to the top of your panel, cut out circles from your panel to align with the holes in the tape & clip on the eyelets to hide the cut edges. You can attach the tape either to the back of the panel (like heading tape) or fold down the top edge of the fabric & sandwich the tape so that its hidden. Don't forget that the spaces at either end of the panel are 1/2 the size of the spaces in between the eyelets. You can buy both tape & eyelets from Dunelm Mill.

The other method is the professional way but you do need to be quite good at working out spacing etc. as you mark your own circles on the fabric once the interlining has been put in the curtain, & then you'll be cutting through several layers of fabric, interlining, curtain lining etc. - best to do this with a very sharp knife (craft or stanley knife etc) Professional workshops have a cutting tool but its hugely expensive so don't even go there!! Then you add the eyelets to cover the cut edges.

Good luck

Sharon

Dovetail