PDA

View Full Version : Should I/shouldn't I?

onlyme
05-09-2009, 09:27 AM
I have a pine bookcase that I love - except that it's a bit outdated being pine, so I'm considering giving it a shabby chic look (I love shabby chic) to brighten it up. It wasn't cheap as I had it made specially, so I don't want to ruin it and my question is...has anyone else attempted to try this?

beadsbydesign
05-09-2009, 10:14 AM
yep!
As an interior designer, I often undertook this type of project. Double paint laying, lime look finishes etc. At the end of the day it you decide you don't want it like that anymore, then you can simply sand it back to pine.
What sort of look are you thinking of?

onlyme
05-09-2009, 10:44 AM
What sort of look are you thinking of?

I hadn't really thought so if you can give me any ideas I'd be very grateful. I just had a whitewashed/limed look in my head - not had any experience with this type of project before so I don't want to mess up. :)

wendy
05-09-2009, 09:59 PM
I speak as someone who can't put a paintbrush down, and doesn't really like to paint in flat colour. Also as a craft teacher.

Whatever you do with paint is reversible, so never worry about it. Like beadsbydesign says, you can sand it off if you don't like it. You can also paint over it.

Shabby chic is easy and fun. There are different ways to do it. The easiest of all is slap the paint on and sand off at corners and edges. You could also use two colours, one over the other. Some people like to use wax as a resist to allow some colour to show through (rub a candle over it before the second layer), but a light sanding can work too (my choice, I don't bother with wax). Let a bit of the wood show through too.

I like to work with acrylics - they have great coverage, a fab colour choice, and are intermixable with emulsions if necessary. You can add an acrylic varnish to protect.

If you are still a bit unsure, experiment with painting a bit of scrap wood first. You may end up hooked, be warned!!