PDA

View Full Version : Writing on Wood/Preserving Wood

kbose675
02-09-2009, 02:33 AM
Hello All! I am a very inexperienced wood crafter, so don't judge me too harsh on my questions.

I want to use a wood "cookie" or slab from the aspen tree we had to cut down in our front yard and write an anniversary message to my husband on it.

However, I don't know what to use to write on it (I don't want to burn it in, as I don't have the tools). I'm not sure how to stencil on it, but if you could all let me know what the best way is to write a message on a wood slab, I would be very appreciative.

Also, how do I preserve this? Lacquer it? Will that make the writing bleed or darken? Please be very thorough with your responses if possible. As I said before, I'm a beginner! Thanks so much!!

wendy
02-09-2009, 10:45 AM
There are probably loads of methods for doing this, but this is mine (and it works well for me).

I give the wood a quick rub down with sandpaper.

I coat the wood with acrylic satin varnish. It's water-based, goes on milky but dries clear (quick to dy and non-smelly).

I may give the wood a rub down again at this point with sandpaper.

I give the wood a second coat of varnish. Two thin coats are much better than one thick one. You can add as many as you like though.

I write on the varnished piece with a permanent marker. Sharpies are good, and they come in a variety of thicknesses. I write freehand, depends on if you like the way you write!! If I need to check the spacing, I try it out on paper first.

If you want to add any painted detail, do it either before varnishing, or after the first coat. If you think the wood needs sealing first, you can do this with a mix of PVA glue and water. Use a good quality acrylic paint. Liquitex soft body is my choice, it's a fab paint with good coverage and will last, from Ken Bromley (they aslo do waterproof artist pens in black and sepia, which are fab for this purpose and very fine).