PDA

View Full Version : Which dies should a beginner buy for A BigShot Sizzix?

Nyse
18-11-2006, 10:08 AM
Hi everybody, I am very new to card making and very enthusiatic. My husband is desperate for me to pick a pressie for Christmas so having looked at various things, I am thinking of buying the Ellison Big Shot Machine.
I looked at the tag-a-long as well, but was advised it would probably be a waste of money as once I started using it I would want the extra versatility of the Big shot (do you agree with this?)
My real question is, as a beginner, what else would I need to start using the Big shot, and which dies would give me the best basic set to begin with?
Many thanks!:)

Funkyhand
18-11-2006, 11:50 AM
Hi Nyse
I don't own a big shot, I have a standard Sizzix machine. When I first had my machine I bought some tag dies because they can be used as toppers for cards and as tags in their own right. I then got basic shapes like squares and circles because they are great for making unusual matting and layering on cards and they can be hard to cut by hand (well the circles anyway!) After that I just cruised the web looking for dies that interested me, they are not the cheapest craft item to buy so when I am buying I try to think of all the things I can do with each die. A example of this was when I bought the card die (large red sizzix) I have used the card for passing diving test cards, and also for just married cards with Bitty body people in side. Then at Easter I used the die as a basis of an Easter basket. I cut off the wheels and the steering wheel and then placed some paper weaving over the main section of the cut out..suddenly I had a basket with a handle over the top which I put painted eggs in. There are some really great dies out there so whatever system you finally choose you will enjoy using them.
Hope that helps a bit
Anice xx :)

Nyse
18-11-2006, 01:25 PM