PDA

View Full Version : Apothecary garden

soap queen
09-07-2009, 02:01 PM
I am starting the layout for a new apothecary garden for a house that we are about to move into - I can give it about 1/4 acre and we will have a seperate orchard with all the usuals. I would love to hear anyones ideas on what should be included. I also have bees so would love to include anything that makes them even more happy!
amanda
ps should have said... and why?

beadsbydesign
09-07-2009, 02:08 PM
fennel, camomile, chicory,

sparkysdad
09-07-2009, 02:27 PM
Given you are a soaper.. I would give saponaria a try (Tumbling ted) - I tried to grow it from seed in my Guerilla Garden, but didnt have much luck.. :confused:

But then, Im not good with growing things from seed apart fram nasturtiums!

beckyboo
09-07-2009, 02:49 PM
definatly marigolds ,comfrey,sageand not forgetting good old english lavender

sparkysdad
09-07-2009, 03:42 PM
definatly marigolds

Cos you like yellow flowers?? or because you wear rubber gloves to avoid creepie crawlies! :mf:

greannancrafts
09-07-2009, 04:01 PM
Cos you like yellow flowers?? or because you wear rubber gloves to avoid creepie crawlies! :mf:

She wears them when doing a bank job;)

Jane

craftdancer
09-07-2009, 08:20 PM
Chamomile, sage, thyme, chives, rosemary, another vote for lavender (various varieties - some are edible, some are more attractive to bees and insects, some have a better scent for pot pourri etc, some are great for adding to oils and making infusions etc), parsley, bay, garlic.

Linda

beckyboo
09-07-2009, 08:53 PM
She wears them when doing a bank job;)

Jane

lol...marigolds are really useful in apothecary I'll have you know
mixed with oil they relieve cuts,burns,itchy skin and even chapped lips so nerrrrr :sm:
plus they are a pretty colour ;)

greannancrafts
09-07-2009, 09:06 PM
lol...marigolds are really useful in apothecary I'll have you know
mixed with oil they relieve cuts,burns,itchy skin and even chapped lips so nerrrrr :sm: