PDA

View Full Version : help please

pollyp
25-08-2006, 12:42 PM
Hi, I am pollyp and I am new to this forum. I am also brand new to crafts of any sort but I have to make a long box cushion for a window seat. the measurements are approx' 69" x 19". I have no idea how to make a pattern to cut out the fabric and how do I go about sewing it together when it is cut out. I am totally useless in this respect. I would prefer to use something simple like velcro fastening rather than a zip. Can anyone help me out here?
many thanks
pollyp

Seahorse
25-08-2006, 01:17 PM
If its a rectangle it should be easy in comparison to a shaped one.
Is it a sponge seat which you can squidge into the casing?
If so then hopefully the info below will help.

Get the correct measurements.
Either buy some gridded patern paper which you can get form John Lewis or a fabric shop, or you can just use newspaper sheets sellotaped together.

Measure out the length and width exactly then add either 1cm or 1 inch to those measurements.
eg 69" goes to 70"
19"goes to 20"

Cut pattern out of the paper including the added extra length, place material on a flat surface and pin the paper pattern to it.
Cut out.You may need to purchase some proper fabric scissors, usually around 20 for a resonable pair.

Place the right sides together.Line up the edges.When sewing together sew in from the edge whichever you chose to increase it buy(1 inch or 1 centimetre).

Do the same with the sides.

Keep one edge open(ie dont sew it up fully)just enough so you can get the seating in (if its sponge)
Turn it inside out(ie so the correct decorative side will be on the outside)

Put the seating in, then hand sew the open edge.

Hope that helps. Should be easy with a sponge insert but if its not then more thinking may be needed.

SteveG
25-08-2006, 01:22 PM