PDA

View Full Version : Help for the complete novice

Fouroaksred
10-04-2009, 09:48 PM
Good evening all,

I have decided for a complete life change and my aim is to produce and sell organic cosmetic products (soaps, shampoos etc) for a specific target group (who for now shall remain anonymous).

My questions are simply this - Where do I start, what do I need to do, what do I need to watch out for and am I mad?

Any help would be much appreciated.

Kind Regards Fouroaksred.

Ifor-Jones
10-04-2009, 09:52 PM
Hello and welcome to the forum. Can't be much help with the answers to those questions, but I am sure there will be someone along soon who can.(welcome)

Fair Do
10-04-2009, 11:15 PM
Hi and welcome,

Sounds very cloak and dagger!!

I would suggest that you start by making some!!

Or have you done that bit?? :D

Fair Do

juliemarley
10-04-2009, 11:22 PM
Hi and (welcome)

wow you really want to make alot, biggest thing i can suggest is certification for all products, which isnt cheap im afraid.

greannancrafts
10-04-2009, 11:53 PM
(welcome) to the forum

I would do some market research first.

Jane

ElaineJ
11-04-2009, 02:11 AM
Do some googling and read the topics on this board, there's a multitude of handmade organic cosmetics makers around (even more of handmade without organic certification)

The current EU Cosmetics Directive will, in a matter of months, become a Regulation (i.e. the countries in the EU have no option but to obey!) and the costs of Safety Assessment and Certification will escalate. Then you'd have to jump through the hoops of the Soil Association to be able to officially class your products as Organic.

Such a venture is not for the fainthearted.

Bath-Bomb.Com
11-04-2009, 08:32 AM
Crikey....This is a pretty enormous undertaking and you are likely to be spending the next 6 months (at least) just setting it all up...If you are planning to make the products yourself you'll need to bear in mind the following: