PDA

View Full Version : Website Help

Lesley Sinclair
27-07-2006, 07:42 PM
Hi all

I have been crafting for around 12 months now and my hubby keeps telling me that my cards are good enough to sell - not quite convinced but nice to hear it! I thought as a first step I could do a website and see what happens.

Has anyone done this or am I just getting a little carried away! If you have any hints and tips about how to sell on line?

Would love any suggestions from the experts out there.

Lesley:D

Scrapfairies
07-08-2006, 07:11 PM
Hi if its just a small business you can set up a website quite cheaply but dont forget you'll need to keep accounts and everything for the tax man. :o

Soapwitch
07-08-2006, 07:28 PM
Hi Lesley,

I'm not an expert, just a soapmaker! I designed and set up a website a year ago. There's lots of ways to go about it, we started with a basic site and set up a paypal account to help us take card payments.

Why not try selling your cards at a local craft fair first to build up your confidence? I found that this helped me to test out my pricing and I always take my new products out to craft fairs first to test peoples reactions.

Hope that helps

GEM
07-08-2006, 10:11 PM
you can get a basic website for as little as £100 so it's hardly a huge investment. The sooner you get one.. the sooner you can get those leaflets and business cards made ;)

James.

SteveG
21-08-2006, 01:48 PM
Its an old topic, but just thought I would see how you got on with your web site Lesley?

I am setting up my own craft shop and am currently going through the bore of search engine submission etc :rolleyes:

Did you get the website up and running ? How long did it take for you to start getting regular orders ?

Its a concideration that we add the ability for members of our shop to upload images of their crafts and sell their own stuff - would this have been or is something you would consider doing too ?

Regards,
Steven

Funkyhand
23-08-2006, 11:30 AM