PDA

View Full Version : Curtain & Blind Making - where to start?

wendandsey
18-03-2009, 04:48 PM
Hi,

I'm new to this site, and I wondered if anyone could help me on where to start with making my own curtains and blinds, at the moment I have no knowledge atall, but am thinking a course would be a good place to start! Can anyone recommend a course in the area of Loughton, Essex or nearby?

Thank you in advance!

Wendy

:confused:

Aileen
19-03-2009, 12:37 PM
try the website hotcourses.com/community/homePage.jsp to find a range of courses near you

if you want to study at home then try the National Design Academy (NDA) Professional Curtain Making course, they often have really good price deals.

Alternatively buy or borrow the curtain maker's bible - Encyclopedia of Curtains by Merrick and Day.

sparkysdad
19-03-2009, 03:32 PM
Hi,

I'm new to this site, and I wondered if anyone could help me on where to start with making my own curtains and blinds, at the moment I have no knowledge atall, but am thinking a course would be a good place to start! Can anyone recommend a course in the area of Loughton, Essex or nearby?

Thank you in advance!

Wendy

Actually, not to do anyone who makes exotic curtains look amazing, but "basic" curtains are a doddle - I am no master of the sewing machine, but I have made a couple of pairs of curtains recently, after a break of 20 years.. bringing the total up to 4!!

The latest pair are a 3m drop, pinch pleat tops, fully lined, and I even made a set of simple swags and contrast tails with a beaded edge.. from a simple pattern I found on the internet (free)..