PDA

View Full Version : Glass Kiln

LauraT
17-01-2009, 04:54 PM
I am hoping that you will be able to help me out.

My Dad is interested in fusing glass and glass work in general.He has bought a shed today that he is going to turn into a workshop for us both.

However,he has no real idea of what he needs interms of equipment. He has got a few books and wants to find a kiln.

So.... is there anyone out there who can give me some idea of the best type of kiln or a good manufacturer?

Laura

annnoble
17-01-2009, 05:29 PM
I use a Skutt hotstart pro thing and its great because of the programmer thing on the front.

Best place to look www.warmglass.co.uk also a really good glass forum www.warmglass.com.

Good luck

Ann

skuttle
18-01-2009, 07:32 PM
I'd second that. I absolutely love my Hotstart Pro. :D
I was a complete beginner when I bought it last year, but I got the hang of it in no time.
And Warm Glass offer great after service as well. When I thought I had a problem (the week after buying it), someone contacted me immediately and talked me through things (turned out I hadn't quite locked the lid so it wouldn't start. Doh!).
If your Dad's looking for something that will do more than just a few pieces of jewellery, the shelf is about 30cm diameter, so you can do bowls, plates etc as well.

Aviya Glass
18-01-2009, 09:01 PM
Have a look at different types of kilns and ask your dad what he intends on making as this will help narrow down the choice.
For example there would be no point in buying a Skutt Hotbox - which I have and adore - if he wants to make large items.
Kilns are an expensive item so please research thoroughly to avoid mistakes.
Warmglass is a good start as suggested and excellent service IMO.
All the best in finding what you want. :):):)

Tias
31-01-2009, 11:31 PM
I bought Paragon kiln a year ago and am very pleased with it. I use it for fused glass jewellery only. :)

toppotter
12-02-2009, 12:40 AM