PDA

View Full Version : Is This a New Scam????


Pauline@weddingtreasures
12-09-2008, 07:17 AM
Just received this:

Your internet access is going to get suspended

The Internet Service Provider Consorcium was made to protect the rights of software authors, artists.
We conduct regular wiretapping on our networks, to monitor criminal acts.

We are aware of your illegal activities on the internet wich were originating from

You can check the report of your activities in the past 6 month that we have attached. We strongly advise you to stop your activities regarding the illegal downloading of copyrighted material of your internet access will be suspended.

Sincerely
ICS Monitoring Team

Of course there is NO way I am going to open the attachment!!!!!!

Just wanted to pass it on.

While I'm on about it, I am getting a shed load of scam saying somebody has sent me a greeting card........these are not opened either!!

Pauline http://www.weddingchaos.co.uk/wedding-forum/style_emoticons/default/mad.gif

Peter
12-09-2008, 07:44 AM
I think the paypal advice of, 'if it doesn't have your name on it - it's a scam', will be the best advice here! ;)

Scorch
12-09-2008, 07:48 AM
Yup - scam! Ignore or report as spam... :)

sunshine
12-09-2008, 08:02 AM
I received today:mad: and they asking for my bank details:mad::


Your account has been temporarily limited !,
We are hereby notifying you that, after a recent review of your account activity, it has been determined that you are in violation of Scotia OnLine's Acceptable Use Policy.
Therefore, your account has been temporarily limited for: webcam shows.
We must properly verify your account again
Tips to unlock your Scotia OnLine account. - It's Easy



:mad::mad::mad:scam

Funkyhand
12-09-2008, 08:06 AM
My rule of thumb is..if they don't know who I am, ie the email is sent to a generic title 'Dear Internet user' etc and I don't know who they are or even care!! then it's junk! Don't open any attachments just delete.
Anice xx :):)

Delta
12-09-2008, 09:15 AM
'Internet Service Provider Consorcium' what the eck is that last word?

This is actually the second person that I know of that has received this email, exactly the same, word for word, complete with the same spelling mistakes.

General advice was to bin it and ignore.

Louise88
12-09-2008, 10:25 AM
I was told i had won the lottery, sensibly i checked the national lottery website before i danced around the room, unfortunatly it was a scam. :mad:

The weird thing is i had signed up to that website the day before and it was the first lottery ticket i had bought in ages. It's so worrying how they knew that i had done this! Does this mean they know where i live and possibly my bank details too? :confused:

BeadsbyLili
12-09-2008, 10:26 AM
I had it too ...in my junk folder ! Its spam - just ignore it.

FairyAlchemy
15-09-2008, 09:20 PM
ICS Monitoring Team .... virus email.

There was a warning on anti-virus a few days ago... so glad you did not open it...:p

stallfinder
20-09-2008, 06:13 PM
I received this one and the greetings card ones as well. I never open attachments unless I'm absolutely certain I know who's sent them and they're ok. They're usually pretty easy to spot - the fact the sender of this one can't spell consortium is a bit of a giveaway.
Gail.