PDA

View Full Version : The Princes Trust???

girlfunky
15-08-2008, 06:27 PM
Has anyone used this service for their new business? Anyone used them for the low cost loans that they offer? What was your experience? How long did it take to get a decision on a loan and was there a process to go through?

Thanks in advance :)

nattynetty
15-08-2008, 09:54 PM
I'm too old to use them (unless they've changed the rules recently) but when I worked as a careers adviser I helped a few young people apply to the Princes Trust. None of them applied for the loan so can't help on that but some applied for (and got) grants. If I remember rightly they got an appointment with someone from the PT quite quickly after the initial enquiry and when the grant was approved they recieved the money within a month or so I believe.

If I were you I'd contact the PT and arrange an appointment with one of their advisers if you haven't done so already as they are really helpful :)

urbtaf
15-08-2008, 11:36 PM
If you can get it go for it. I have a grudge against it as when we had the courier company we lost 2 good contracts to a young lad who had set up with their help. he got a monthly grant, a computer and sat nav system, and a cheap loan to buy his van.
Dont know if they are still that generous but it cant help to ask. I do seem to remember that a good business plan is the main thing they ask for so if you know anybody that has experiance with that sort of thing see them before you do anything else
Good luck, you dont get much help in business so grab any that comes your way

Muddle Jewellery
16-08-2008, 12:10 PM
Hi

I've been helped by the Princes Trust.
I called them, then went to see them at their offices and they talk you through what you have to do, and how to do your business plan, they will also say if your business is viable.
You used to be able to get a test marketing grant of about 100, but I'm not sure they do it anymore.