PDA

View Full Version : Hello

handcrafted
13-05-2008, 01:46 PM
Hey im Amy and i am from near Edinburgh.

I have just graduated (well handed in my dissertation at last!) from my animal biology degree and i guess you can say i am now unemployed seeing as i am not a student anymore :nopity: (good smileys!)

What, i hear you cry, is that to do with crafts!? Well i love crafts and art. I loved to paint/draw/make baskets/jewellary but for the past 4 years i have been tied down to uni work and i am now determined to get back into making things with my hands! There is nothing more satisfying.

But i am at a loss as where to start. I have the urge but i feel i have hit a brick wall. I am slighty skint due to being a student for so long so i have searched my house high and low to find the remains of my craft tools. I came across this website when searching for jobs! I hope it can help me get back on track.

I do love animals too though, so my degree isnt a total waste :D I have a 11 month old black lab called Flynn, a moggy called Milo and in 4 weeks time i will be getting my horse called Alfie!

My dream is to be able to make a living from my crafts! But il wait and see about that..!

elaine50
13-05-2008, 01:49 PM
(welcome) great to hear from you.
Elaine

Clarey11
13-05-2008, 02:01 PM
Hi Amy,

I finished uni last year doing BA Honours in Jewellery. I know its tough just out of uni it took me ages to get a job - not a jewellery job- but ANY job. At the moment i am just working in london in an admin job- snore. But at least it brings in the cash and pays the bills. And now I am paying odd my student loan and out of my overdraft woohoo! But definately you need to get some cash in to be able to start making your own stuff. Its great when you get started making again its just about finding the time when you have a full time job!

Rodeo Lady
13-05-2008, 04:16 PM
(welcome) to the forum from me too.

Cheers Janice

pixiedoodles
13-05-2008, 04:18 PM